Mixing Prints

Immediately after graduating from High School I packed my bags and moved to Logan, Utah to start my college adventure at Utah State University. At the time I was planning on going into Special Education or Deaf Education, both of them sounded pretty fulfilling to me. I remember one day as I walked to class I saw a girl whose outfit has forever been imprinted in my mind. She was wearing a pink floral calico print shirt and an over-sized blue floral print skirt. I thought, “What on earth is she thinking!? Is she trying to make a statement? She must know how horribly she clashes?”  That was my opinion seven years ago. My taste has changed a little (a lot) since then. Like I said, she made quite an impression on me and I think of her whenever I put together an outfit this bold and disregard convention entirely. I’ve discovered that I’m quite fond of mixing prints these days and that once again I am guilty of breaking fashion’s #1 rule: never say never! I love pairing two different scale polka dots with stripes and a floral cuff bracelet.  I call this striped cardigan my “boyfriend cardi” (my little joke, I found it in the men’s section at Goodwill SF. Gosh I miss that wonderland.)

DSC_0159

DSC_0165

DSC_0186

DSC_0210

DSC_0195

DSC_0216

DSC_0230

Navy with White Polka Dot Shirt: Goodwill- Boston

Red and White Polka Dot Pleated Skirt: DownEast (get it here. I worked on the polka dot!)

Navy and White Striped Cardigan- Goodwill- San Francisco

Red Pointed Toe Pumps: Goodwill- Salt Lake City

Floral Cuff Bracelet: Forever 21

Feathered Gold Necklace and Earrings: Goodwill- Salt Lake City

Rippled Gold Ring: Forever 21

Photography By Charlotte Tidwell

Leave a Reply

