50’s Inspired

This dress was a draping final I completed in school. The assignment was to drape a garment, draft it into a pattern, and construct the style. The requirement for the class was that no matter what we made, it had to have at least 8 pattern pieces. I was going through a Doris Day phase at the time and wanted to make something ultra feminine (surprised?) with a wide A-line skirt and a neck bow. After I had designed it I had it in my mind to find beautiful, colorful, striped fabric, but when I got to the fabric store I was very disappointed. I couldn’t find any stripes like the ones I had envisioned! It was one of the most annoying challenges I had in school. It’s so frustrating when you know exactly what kind of fabric you want to use to create your design and you can’t find it anywhere! It’s also one of my favorite things about my job. I get to design the fabrics we use! Anyway, I found this brown, coral, peach, and gold stripe and and thought “ah well…it’s due tomorrow. Just make it, turn it in, and then look for the perfect stripes later.” But as I started sewing this dress the stripes began to grow on me. I don’t mind the colors so much anymore, the metallic gold thread sells it for me. I got an A- on the assignment (hip hip hooray!) and then wore it to church the following Sunday. A girl at church raved about it so much (sweet of her) that her boyfriend secretly commissioned me to make the dress for her. I found really fun stripes (finally!) and made this dress for my very first client!

DSC_0145

DSC_0103

DSC_0162

DSC_0121

DSC_0118

DSC_0172

Coral, Brown, Peach, and Gold Striped Dress: Me!

Orange Purse: Savers

Pink Jeweled Ring: DownEast

Gold and Brown Bangles: Forever 21

Gold Heels: eBay

Gold Tear Drop Dangle Earrings: Goodwill- Salt Lake City

Photography By Charlotte Tidwell 

Leave a Reply

