All American Girl

It’s not your typical red, white, and blue, but somehow I feel so patriotic in this outfit. You know all about my love affair with neck bows, but about 3 1/2 years ago I discovered silk scarves and they quickly became a staple accessory for me. It all started one evening when I was bored and stumbled across Bonnie an Clyde on Netflix. I’m sure you all can relate to this, sometimes you watch a movie and it leaves a deep impression on you. You think about it days after and want to know as much as you can about the story, the time period, and all sorts of useless trivia. The movie was made in 1967 but it was supposed to take place in the 30s during the depression. My oh my,  the mixture of the 60s and the 30s inspired me so! Bonnie’s costumes were incredible. In several of the scenes she wore a scarf-like bandanna around her neck (iconic) and I made up my mind right then and there that I needed to start a collection of scarves. Over the last couple of years I’ve done pretty well for myself (they’re SO easy to find at thrift stores!) and this colorful polka dot scarf is one of my latest treasures. I’ve been told that I look like an airline stewardess, a sailor, and Marsha Brady in this outfit. I don’t mind, it’s all American right!?

DSC_0122

DSC_0140

DSC_0118

DSC_0123

DSC_0079

DSC_0156

DSC_0148

Chambray Shirt: DownEast

Wide-leg Navy Trousers: Savers

Polka Dot Scarf: Savers

Brown Leather Belt: Goodwill- New York

Sparkle Wedges: Savers

Rainbow Bracelets and Anchor Ring: Forever 21

Photography By Charlotte Tidwell 

Leave a Reply

