Inspired By King Kong!?

It’s true. I designed this jacket to be similar to the one Naomi Watts wears in King Kong. I saw the movie when I was about 18 years old and never forgot that coat. Oh how I loved it!! Five years later I decided it was time to make that dream come true. My favorite part is the lining; I love pretty little secrets. I’ve only worn this jacket once, it was on the day one of my very best friends, Jordan, got married. It was such a joyful (and freezing and windy!) day and for some reason I wanted to leave this jacket with those memories. I hung it up in my closet that night (12/18/2010) and it’s been smashed and collecting dust ever since. Honestly, I kind of forgot about it until the other day when I was riffling through the back of my closet and spotted it. I figured the time has come for me to resuscitate my favorite piece I’ve ever made.

DSC_1035

DSC_0961

DSC_1068

DSC_1019

DSC_1055

DSC_0965

The Metcalf’s day of marriage!

1-2

Wedding day 221b

7

8

9

Stand-Up Collar Jacket: Me

Cream Lace Detail Blouse: DownEast

Red with White Polka Dot Skirt: DownEast

Crystal Ring: Forever 21

Tear Drop Earrings: Gift from a friend

Photography By Charlotte Tidwell

4 thoughts on “Inspired By King Kong!?

    • Well bless my soul, if it isn’t Jenna Shirley! So good of you to come around! Your wish is my command my dear lady, but I think we’d have a lot of fun thrifting too. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

