Silly Sophistication

I found this puff sleeve polka dot sweater at the Goodwill in San Francisco and it spoke to me. It said “I’m silly with a touch of sophistication. Take me home!” And so I did. I wore it to school the next day and the head of my department cackled and ridiculed me mercilessly for a good 5 minutes but once she sobered up she admitted that she had a sweater similar to this one back in the 80s and she really wished she hadn’t gotten rid of it. She loved it. Moral: fools will mock… but secretly they’re jealous 😉

 I made the black knit pencil skirt a couple weeks ago with this specific outfit in mind. Everyone needs a black knit pencil skirt; it’s an essential basic for a ladies wardrobe. A woven pencil skirt is nice too if you love structure, and I do, but I can’t seem to find the right fit. My waist to hip measurements is a little more extreme than most companies want to acknowledge (if ya know what I’m sayin), so a knit skirt is much more willing to work with my curves and sit nicely on me.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Doing the robot. Naturally.

Image

Image

Image

Red, White, and Black Puff Sleeve Sweater: Goodwill- San Francisco

Black Knit Pencil Skirt: Made by my loving hands

Red and White Polka Dot Scarf: Goodwill- San Francisco

Asymmetrical Black Suede Heels: eBay

Black Ring and Black Dangle Earrings: DownEast

Photography By Charlotte Tidwell

5 thoughts on “Silly Sophistication

  1. You Rock it baby! I am glad you can have fond 80’s feelings dear. Since I lived it the first time, I find it impossible to feel all warm and fuzzy towards the fashions!

Leave a Reply

