Titillating Teal

There is such a deliciously embarrassing story behind this outfit. But first I have to tell you that one of my best friends, Carissa, sent me this dress for my 22nd birthday while I was living in San Francisco. She and her sister Stacy (another BFF) have always been amazing at remembering my birthday and sent delightful packages to me while I was away. They are such darlings. I fell in love with the vibrancy of this teal dress the moment I opened Carissa’s birthday package, and I quickly learned to appreciate how easy it was to accessorize and dress it up. This cutie little dress became a summer basic for me. My only complaint is that it cuts me off at the widest part of my ribcage (just under the bust. That’s why I hardly ever go for empire waist tops and dresses) and I’m not sure it creates the best silhouette for my body shape. But who cares!? It’s been a dream for me over the years. I have gotten a little small for it however, and because of that I have to take in extra from inside and safety pin it whenever I wear it. Still, I couldn’t let it go. I felt like it was light and breezy, flirty and fun.

 Okay, now I’ll get to the juice. Last June I started dating a guy who, by the way, was the guy I was telling Zach about when we had our first conversation last summer. I’ll call him Dave, just so we have a name for the story. Dave asked me out for a 3rd date and because I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about him I said yes. He picked me up in Orem and took me to dinner in Farmington (Can’t remember why it had to be Farmington?) and then afterwards we drove to the Salt Lake City Capitol building and put a blanket down on the lawn so we could play card games. It was a beautiful summer evening and the capitol was lit up magnificently. I remember being completely content except for the fear in the back of my mind that he was going to kiss me. I wasn’t ready for that.  He was coming on pretty strong with the hand holding and the caresses. I’ve never been the kind of girl that can date someone halfheartedly; I’m either in or out. I detest men who are wishy washy in relationships and I never wanted to be “that girl” either. But I tried to drive those thoughts out of my mind and focus on having fun. Dating is supposed to be FUN! I wanted to keep things lighthearted and easy. As we lay there on the blanket playing UNO, I had a moment where I got a little too excited because I was sure I was about to win. I leaned over fast, threw my card down, and shouted “UNO”!! That did it. In my hasty lunge forward the safety pin inside my dress popped and my dress dropped open. Ugh. Yes. It’s the hilarious/sad/sorry truth. I thought I could probably die on the spot and that would be just fine by me. Poor Dave, he definitely got a good look at what was behind my dress and he didn’t know what to say or do. I rushed to fix it but… it was kind of difficult. I was mortified but also found the humor in the situation. After the first few moments of embarrassment, I began to laugh. What the heck!? Why is life so cruel!? And why do these humiliating things always seem to happen to me!? He continued to be awkward, he had no idea how to handle the situation. Shortly after the incident we packed up all our stuff and he drove me home. Yes, there was an attempted kiss on the doorstep. No, it did not happen.

DSC_0316

DSC_0339

DSC_0349

DSC_0370

DSC_0346

DSC_0358

DSC_0340

 

Teal Wrap Dress: Birthday present from Carissa

Vintage Floral Brooch: eBay

Yellow Stilettoes: Savers

Gold Cuff Bracelet: Goodwill- Boston

Large Round Framed Glasses: Zenni Optical

Photos By Charlotte Tidwell

6 thoughts on “Titillating Teal

  1. HAHAHAHA!!! I died. WHY do all of the WORST possible situations happen to you. You poor dear. I love you! Glad to see you’re back to this here blog! :*

Leave a Reply

