Designer Dreams

Do you ever get a bee in your bonnet and it won’t stop buzzing until you take that thought and put it into action?  A few years ago when I was still in design school I dreamed up a cream peplum pencil skirt (this is just before peplums were THE thing) and I couldn’t let it go. I thought about it for weeks until finally one Saturday afternoon when I was tired of wishing for it I sat down at my sewing machine and made it happen. That’s probably one of my favorite things about being a designer. I love to come up with a concept and then after days (and sometimes days and days and days) of hard work, you get to hold it in your hands. What started out in your head became and real, tangible garment! I wore this “dream made real” skirt a few times and then allowed it to get pushed back so far in my closet that I hardly ever thought of it again. I found it the other day and thought that it at least deserved a cameo on my blog. After all, it’s my own!

DSC_0386DSC_0390DSC_0403DSC_0422DSC_0454DSC_0408

Black Lace Top: eBay

Cream Peplum Skirt: Me

Gold Kitten Heels: eBay

Pearl Plated Necklace: Forever 21

Gold Clutch: Savers

Photography By Charlotte Tidwell

5 thoughts on “Designer Dreams

  1. That’s my cootie! Of COURSE you thought of a “peplum” style BEFORE everyone else! You go, girl. You look lovely in your homemade peplum skirt! SO talented you are! ❤

  2. Well, Kaitlin dearest, I NEVER have flights of creative fancy. It’s just not in me. You look very lovely here and Mr. Brian said you look especially beautiful in that first picture!

Leave a Reply

