Wedding Day Remembrances

Siiiiiigh, my wedding day. It poured rain, the weather was frigid, and my hair was disastrous by the end of it all, but… it was a pretty spectacular day. In fact, I think all those things added to the charm of our event. The whole thing was so dreamlike. I mean that quite literally. The morning of November 22nd I woke up and thought “Is this really it? Am I seriously getting married today? The day I’ve been thinking of and expecting and looking forward to my entire life?! Naaaaaaah, it feels like any old average morning.” I got out of bed, said a morning prayer, read some scriptures, and brushed my teeth. Yup. Just like every day. I packed all my last minute morsels into my suitcase for my honeymoon, tried to remember everything I would need that day (wedding dress, veil, shoes, makeup, purse with all my important things, Zach’s wedding ring…etc. Sheesh.) and headed to Provo to my sister Charlotte’s house. My sister Sharon was staying at Charlotte’s and she was going to do my hair and makeup for the day. When I got there all my sisters cheered (they had slept at Charlotte’s) and I shook my fists in victory above my head even though, still, none of it felt real. I sat down on a chair, my brother-in-law, Dan, grabbed a mirror from off the wall and set it up for us and Sharon got to work at the kitchen table. You know, I really do enjoy having my makeup done by someone else who I trust. It’s such a treat.

I chose to have our wedding ceremony at 1:30 PM because I thought that would make it nice and easy on everyone. It meant we all got to sleep in and have a calm, relaxed morning getting ready. The thing is, Zach is a morning person (to the extreme) and had been up since 5:30 AM. He packed for our honeymoon, took a shower, shaved, got a manly manicure from his sister, Emma, changed into his wedding suit, and was lazily reading a book. Clearly it felt like just any old day for him, too. I got a few texts from him throughout the morning and finally he called me around 11:00AM. He whined that he was bored, that no one at home was paying attention to him (ha!), and asked if he could come over and be with me while I got ready. I know tradition says it’s wrong for the groom to see the bride before the ceremony but he was going to come get me so we could go to the temple together anyway, right? Might as well come over if you’re bored to tears, I say.

He came over and brought his journal with him. I was thrilled that he would write in his journal the day of our wedding!! Turns out he only wrote a sentence or two. Something like “I get married today.” Nice. As Sharon was working on me I couldn’t help but look outside the kitchen window and notice how harsh the wind was blowing and how dark the clouds loomed, I knew that a heavy rain shower was on its way. It made me a little nervous, I was hoping for a gorgeous snow fall, if weather had to happen, not hard, cold rain. Ah well. Once Sharon was finished with me, Zach and I grabbed our things, packed it all in the car good and tight (in the beginnings of the rain storm), and headed to the Provo Temple.

IMG_9056

Untitled-2 (2)

Untitled-3

It only took us about 5-10 minutes to get there but that’s all the time mother nature needed. By the time we arrived it was pouring. Zach tried to pull the car up as close to the front door of the temple as possible without running over the flower beds. Surprisingly, his mother was there to greet me with an umbrella. She and Zach’s family came very early because they were scared to be late due to the weather. Zach let me out and then drove off to park the car. Was this even real? I mean, was I really at the temple to get married!? I waited for Zach and then he and I took care of all the temple business we needed to, including handing over our marriage license to be signed after it was all over. Wow. That’s when it started to sink in and I began to feel jittery. Oh man. This is real. I’m about to become Zachary’s wife. AH! Me? A wife!? So crazy! Didn’t I know I was going to marry Zach from the moment he took me home on our first date? Did I not expect this the whole 5 months we were engaged?? What did I think an engagement was, anyway? I loved (still do) Zach! He’s my man! I know, I know, it sounds crazy, but it was then that the adrenaline kicked in and the reality of it all hit me hard. I squeezed his hand (probably too tightly) goodbye as we had to go separate ways to change for the ceremony. Once we got back together they gave us some time to be alone before our guests arrived. It was a special moment I hope I never forget. Zach reminded me how much he loves me. I love him so much. It was all going to be okay. So much better than okay! We were going to live a very happy life together, not without hard times, but we would push through those together and grow closer for it. We held each other and I wished I could feel what he was feeling because A) I was curious to know exactly what was going on in his mind, and B) he appeared calm as a cucumber about it all, I wished he could give me some of that. But that’s exactly what he was trying to do. He’s such a good Zaglentine for me. Finally they told us everyone was situated and the two of us walked into the room. Oh dear. I’m afraid I lost it there. All my pretty makeup Sharon had done for me ran down my face as I looked at my most favorite people in the world and felt such a wonderful feeling of support and love. I had Zach’s hand in mine and I realized not for the first time how extremely blessed I am to know and be so intimately acquainted with all of those incredible people. And most importantly, I had Zach. We were doing this enormously life changing and eternally crucial thing together.

Zach and I were told by many people afterward that both of our little feetsies were bouncing up and down nervously throughout the entire ceremony. We gave hugs and thanked everyone who came to be with us on our day. We were lucky enough to have another special moment after everyone left to be completely alone, to hold each other, and bawl our eyes out. We did it! After everything we had been through, we finally did it. We were sealed together forever; he was my husband, I was his wife. Pretty powerful.

All of our people were waiting outside for us when we came out of the temple doors and then it was time for pictures!! Yipeeeeee! Let me tell you, as nervous and apprehensive as I felt before we were married, I felt equally as giddy and joyful afterwards. All the hard parts were over. I love Zach an incredible amount and I’m looking forward to the many many years we have ahead of us. And that’s where I’ll leave off on this story. “Wait, there’s more!?” Yes. If you know me at all you know I can’t tell a story short. There are a few more events and a few more feelings to share!

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding PhotographerProvo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

Provo LDS Temple Wedding - Utah Wedding Photographer

P.S. Zach and I fell in love with our wedding day photographer, Heather nan Parkinson. We met her for the first time outside of the temple and it took her all of two seconds to win our hearts. I was familiar with her work, of course, and knew that I would be the luckiest lady bride ever to have her shoot our wedding. I was right. I’m crazy about these photos and especially of the ones yet to be posted on this blog. She’s incredible! Heather is the perfect combination of kindness and sarcasm, it’s exactly what I look for when hoping to find a best friend. She was so fun, efficient, took charge when she needed to, and gave us incredible photos. She also recently had her work printed in the Utah Bride & Groom Magazine. Go look and be dazzled. She won our allegiance.

18 thoughts on “Wedding Day Remembrances

  1. Oh, how I LOVE this! 🙂 I’m so glad I get to share a wedding month with you! I remember having the same thoughts… “Am I REALLY getting married?! After all this time… wondering, waiting, hoping… is it REALLY my turn?!” Yes, yes it was. And it was YOUR turn. Sometimes I look at my Matt and I’m still in awe that I’m married. To HIM. For ETERNITY. Blessings! So many blessings! You guys are so beautiful. I love you both. 🙂

  2. YAY! Loved reading your thoughts on this day. Also, we left so early for the wedding because we were worried about BYU traffic–which was basically non existent. Ha! You made the most scrumptious bride. Love you & miss you guys.

    • That’s right, Zach reminded me about that, I forgot all about the BYU game! We were so worried about it and it didn’t really turn out to be a problem, huh? Thanks Emma! I love all these pictures of you!

  3. They turned out AMAZING! Who would have known it was a windy, stormy day with these gorgeous photos! So happy they turned out so beautifully for you!

    • Thank you so much, Carissa! I know, funny how these pictures don’t show how hard it was raining? You can’t even tell! You can see it a little in the last couple photos but other than that the scene just looks a little damp. So thank you, rain. You ruined my hair but not my wedding photos.

  4. So I am still sad I didn’t go to the temple to greet you after, but your pictures turned out so beautiful, you were so beautiful! I can’t believe my Kaity is married, I still need to come and see your cute apartment.

    • Meags, I know, I still can’t believe I’m married either. And I wish you could have been in the temple pictures but I am so glad you came to the dinner and ring ceremony after! I loved seeing you there with all our friends, it was the best.

  5. The pictures of you and your mom are adorable! You are like two peas in a pod. Also, all of your sisters are there in that pod, haha.

    I never loved the Provo temple architecture and landscaping until I caught glimpses of your wedding, and now after this post I LOVE IT! Your photographer is masterful indeed.

    • Thank you so much! I used to think the Provo temple was the homeliest for sure but slowly through the years it has wiggled it’s way into my heart. It seems so understated, humble, and vintage. But I chose it specifically for the mountains in the back. I hoped they would make a dramatic backdrop and they didn’t disappoint me! The rain whispered “I know you’re mad at me right now but you’ll thank me for this someday”. And I already have.

Leave a Reply

