Z+K Reception

My reception turned out to be everything I dreamed it would be and I think that’s one of the happiest things a bride can say. I wanted a crisp, clean, chic, classic, white wedding and it all fell into place beautifully. I may have had the vision but it took my entire family to make it all come true. I went thrifting for days (a drudgery I had to endure) to find vases, picture frames, and little trinkets to spray paint white and gold, which were my main colors, with accents of black and soft pinks. My sister Charlotte was at the forefront of the reception planning and even gave me the tip off about my venue, Southworth Hall. It’s a modest little hole in the wall from the outside, but the inside has so much potential for glamour! It’s very illusive, I’m afraid I don’t even have a website to direct you to; they don’t have pictures or real information up yet. My three favorite things about it: 1-Brick walls. Love them. 2- It was smaller and a little more cozy. It also meant that we could fill space fast, which I appreciated. 3- It is in downtown Provo. I love Provo. It brings back wonderful memories of my childhood and I think downtown especially has a particular charm I haven’t found anywhere else in the country. Zach and I spent the first half of our dating life in Provo, we went for numerous walks downtown together. It was a sentimental location for me. I also loved that all of my wedding festivities took place in Provo. It’s a quirk of mine but I like to keep things together, like a collection. My wedding and all the celebrations that went with it are part of my Provo collection.

Peter Tidwell, my brother-in-law, also known as The Mighty Baker, was my caterer for the evening. I requested homemade oreos, sugar cookies, pretty cupcakes sprinkles with gold dust, and mini cheesecakes. And let’s not forget my beautiful white cake!! Did Pete deliver or what!? I was very pleased with the delicacies we served and I loved that we got to offer our delicious wedding cake as well. My sister Allysann was so thoughtful; she made two plates full of our refreshments and stored them away for Zach and me to take home with us. I got to sample all the goodness! I know most brides and grooms never get to eat their own food so I’m grateful she thought of us. Peter is a baking wizard and if you or anyone else needs a caterer for a wedding, he’s my #1 recommendation.

Because Peter is a caterer, and therefore has a wholesale license to floral shops, my sisters and I were able to pick out the flowers together and arrange them ourselves! I really enjoyed that part. We did the same for Allysann when she got married (13 months before me) and I was looking forward to arranging my own blooms for my reception. They may look homemade but I like their appearance all the better for that. The effect turned out dainty and sweet.

Just like all wedding receptions, the morning and afternoon of the event was spent running last minute errands and taking care of the little things. I’m so grateful for my family who all took their assigned responsibilities seriously and made sure nothing fell through the cracks. Sharon got me ready for the last time, Charlotte and Peter took care of food, Lynn, Allysann, Bryan, Danielle, and Zach all set up. They pulled out the chairs and tables, covered them, strung lights, set out pictures and flower arrangements, and made sure the music and lights were just right. This was my family’s fourth wedding. We’re getting pretty good at it.

All Photos by Heather Nan Parkinson

kaitlin_zach_reception_0849

kaitlin_zach_reception_0403

kaitlin_zach_reception_0405

kaitlin_zach_reception_0410

kaitlin_zach_reception_0415

kaitlin_zach_reception_0418

kaitlin_zach_reception_0730

kaitlin_zach_reception_0737

kaitlin_zach_reception_0746

kaitlin_zach_reception_0755

kaitlin_zach_reception_0761

kaitlin_zach_reception_0762

kaitlin_zach_reception_0768

kaitlin_zach_reception_0851

kaitlin_zach_reception_0916

kaitlin_zach_reception_0935

At 5:00 PM our guests arrived and the party started! Zach and I didn’t want to spend our whole evening standing in a line so we wandered around together and talked and laughed with all our people. Things were ideal, I couldn’t have asked for a smoother reception. I’m thankful to all who came to support the new Heckert family. Zach and I loved seeing our friends and family! We had to wrap up the merriment at 7:00 PM sharp because there was another event taking place at Southworth Hall that evening. Our remaining guests all ran outside and gave us a wonderful send off. I love those pictures. I obviously posted too many but how could I choose!? You get to see it in sequence. Maybe if I print all of them off and staple them together you can watch us leave like an animated flipbook?

kaitlin_zach_reception_0780

kaitlin_zach_reception_0831

kaitlin_zach_reception_0834

kaitlin_zach_reception_0836

kaitlin_zach_reception_0842

kaitlin_zach_reception_0844

kaitlin_zach_reception_0845

kaitlin_zach_reception_0852

kaitlin_zach_reception_0858

Zach’s sister,Emma, and her husband, Steve, were outside doing a little wedding damage to Zach’s car while all the festivities were going on. They filled the car completely with balloons! It was a very cheerful mess!kaitlin_zach_reception_0860

kaitlin_zach_reception_0863

kaitlin_zach_reception_0867

kaitlin_zach_reception_0876

kaitlin_zach_reception_0878

kaitlin_zach_reception_0881

kaitlin_zach_reception_0886

kaitlin_zach_reception_0899

kaitlin_zach_reception_0904

kaitlin_zach_reception_0906

kaitlin_zach_reception_0907

kaitlin_zach_reception_0921

kaitlin_zach_reception_0922

kaitlin_zach_reception_0924

kaitlin_zach_reception_0926

kaitlin_zach_reception_0949

kaitlin_zach_reception_0957

kaitlin_zach_reception_0959

kaitlin_zach_reception_0961

kaitlin_zach_reception_0963

kaitlin_zach_reception_0974

kaitlin_zach_reception_0980

kaitlin_zach_reception_0985

kaitlin_zach_reception_0991

kaitlin_zach_reception_1005

kaitlin_zach_reception_1009

kaitlin_zach_reception_1010

kaitlin_zach_reception_1011

kaitlin_zach_reception_1029

kaitlin_zach_reception_1035

kaitlin_zach_reception_1038

kaitlin_zach_reception_1042

kaitlin_zach_reception_1043

kaitlin_zach_reception_1046

kaitlin_zach_reception_1048

kaitlin_zach_reception_1050

kaitlin_zach_reception_1056

kaitlin_zach_reception_1068

kaitlin_zach_reception_1072

kaitlin_zach_reception_1080

kaitlin_zach_reception_1087

kaitlin_zach_reception_1093

kaitlin_zach_reception_1099

kaitlin_zach_reception_1102

kaitlin_zach_reception_1109

kaitlin_zach_reception_1114

kaitlin_zach_reception_1116

kaitlin_zach_reception_1123

kaitlin_zach_reception_1127

kaitlin_zach_reception_1134

8 thoughts on “Z+K Reception

    • Oh Heather, you’re so great. I’m impressed that you find time to read my blog in between all your important, fabulous photo shoots. I love to keep up with your work! It never disappoints. I still think I’m the luckiest bride to have you shoot my wedding.

    • I wish my nieces had dressed up in yellow tutus and drank a lemonade to us. Now looking back, that’s the one change I would have made.

Leave a Reply

